How To: Make Healthy Cookies

by Rachel

I have this unbelievably delicious monster cookie recipe… But there is sooo much sugar! I am always trying to figure out a way to lessen sugar content and make things healthier in my baking and I have actually successfully done it… I know this because my husband eats them and doesn’t complain.
The original recipe called for the following:

1/2 C. Butter
1C EACH white and brown sugar
3 eggs
1.5 C. Of peanut butter
4.5 C. Large Flake Oats
2 tsp. Baking soda
1 tsp. Vanilla extract
1 C. Smarties
1/2 C. Each chocolate chips and peanuts.

Now, substitute:
1/2 C. Coconut oil for butter
2 C. Dates (chopped and soaked in boiling water, then mashed up)
Toss the smarties and just do more semi sweet chocolate chip or try seeds and raisins (but I’m not hard core)
And you could even use almond or another nut butter if you really wanted to up the health factor.

I would recommend baking them in muffin cups because they tend to be crumbly (even the original version). Bake at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes and you get this:

image

Delicious AND healthy!

Where you finds cookies you find smiles

