What’s Yo’ Beef #21

by Rachel

Rachel

Beef day! I’ve been saving this one all week. I finished reading Divergent on Monday, it was super good and really hard to put down. It’s got it all, love story, betrayal, action, major conflict, and a lot of tattoos. I went ahead and bought it, as a soft cover, JUST in case I didn’t like it (bit pf a picky reader here) so I wouldn’t be stuck with the box set. Turns out I super loved it, and do you think I could find the other two separately in paperback? No. Which brings me to my beef, my very OCD beef.
I like my books to match. I like to have a trilogy or series that are all hardcover, or all softcover and with matching cover artwork. Why can’t book publishers sell all the books, separately, in soft AND hardcover? I have had the first Harry Potter book in softcover and the rest in hard cover for YEARS… And I think about it, regularly, always keeping my eye open for the Philosophers Stone in hardcover.
And now, I would rather spend the extra money and buy the whole box set of Divergent before buying the second two in hardcover.
After reading it on paper, I realize just how crazy that is…

Shannon

Wow Rachel, that’s a really great beef. All I had this week was when you eat an apple and then everything is sticky for some reason, even though apples aren’t really that sticky, but your beef is way better. Matching books. Why can’t it just happen?!

