How To: Sexify Your Bedroom

by Rachel

I got on a real kick recently on making my master bedroom look a little more grown up… sexy if you will. When I mentioned it to my husband he thought it was a GREAT idea, and then I got to go shopping for new bedroom decor (win win!). He even suggested painting the walls (which would be the second time since moving in) because the colour we chose originally is pretty shitty. Like literally, it’s poo coloured. Not really sure what we were thinking but we finally clued in and we now have a sexy bedroom and a great how to!

First of all, switching up the curtains made a HUGE difference in adding sexiness. We had thick brown curtains (yuk) and switched to black sheer. They are not too sheer that people can see in, and it kinda looks like lingerie for your windows.

The second major mood changer was painting our room almost black. I absolutely love it. It’s called Iron Ore from Sherwin Williams. On it’s own it looks black, but if you get something black beside it it looks like a very dark charcoal. It’s fantastic. Minus the bright green make up desk, I have taken a lot of the bright colours out of the room (my husband wants the green out too, he thinks it ruins the mood). It kind of feels a bit kiddish with too much colour, so the rest of the house is making up for the lack of colour in our room.

Up the candle count. There is a reason that romantic scenes in movies and tv have tons of candles.

I am a firm believer that there should not be any photo’s in your master bedroom other than some of each other or a place you’ve been. No family photo’s, no friend photo’s, not even pets! This, of course, is a personal preference, I just feel it’s hard to get sexy when there’s a picture of your parents sitting on the dresser. The art work in the third picture I grabbed at a university poster sale 8 years ago and damn they came in handy for our sexy bedroom! They are called ‘Girl’ and ‘Antonia’ by Charles Mackesy. Also in the third photo is our new bedside tables. They were $10 each and we glammed them up with silver spray paint and new hardware (the old ones were bright green). It looks fantastic paired with the rustic barn board of our bed.

Find pretty things for your room. Example, pretty scarves for draping, glass vases, and mirrors. I am a little obsessed with mirrors. The count is up to 6 in our room so far. It’s great wall decor as opposed to those family photos!

Lastly, keeping things tidy really helps. Being surrounded by clutter just makes you feel like you should be cleaning up. I NEVER used to make my bed, but now I do just because it looks so nice when it is made! I also had plastic hooks on the back of our door into the bedroom that was always piled with clothes. I moved it to the inside of the closet door. Out of sight, out of mind. I also plan to get some nice laundry baskets with lids to hide the piles of laundry in each of our corners of the room.

I am so happy with the results, a couple months ago I figured this would take me a year, but everything just showed up… mirrors in thrift stores, cheap new side tables, paint sales… all I need to go is a nice chandelier and ceiling medallion and the transformation will be complete.

I’m [Rachel], but you can call me sexy. Everyone else does. –The Darkest Kiss

